Regional council and territorial authority areas South Island At 1 January 2011 Ν Nelson NELSON Tasman Marlborough Tasman Marlborough Buller Kaikeura Grey West Coast Hurunui Selwyn Westland Waimakarin CHRISTCHURCH Ashburton Mackenzie Timaru Canterbury Waimate Queenstown-Lakes Waitak Central Otago DUNEDIN Otago Southland Clutha ¢. INVERCARGILL Legend Southland Regions Districts CITIES Tasman and Marlborough districts and 0 200 Kilometers

Source:	Statistics	New	Zealand

Nelson city are all unitary authorities. As such they are areas with the power of regional authorities.