Logout / Access Other products Drop Down Arrow
Get live help Monday-Friday from 7:00AM-6:00PM ET (11:00AM-10:00PM GMT)  •  Contact Us
Check out our new FAQ section!
RSS Feed
New Geos: Italy - Official Geographic Structure
Tuesday, 08 May 2012 08:37 ET
By Georges Fadel
August 2011 -- Italy's official geographic subdivisions are harmonized to Eurostat NUTS. Data Buffet contains data from the NUTS 1 ripartizione level to LAU 2 municipalities.


Statistically, the Italian Republic is divided into 110 NUTS 3 areas, consisting of 109 provinces (provincia, province) and Aosta.  These are clustered into 20 regions (regione, regioni) (known until World War II as departments, compartimenti) at the NUTS 2 level, and then into five NUTS 1 areas.  Provinces are divided into communes (comuni).


Table 1 of 2. Geographic types for Italy and Data Buffet geography codes.  Italy has a national geo code of IITA, and all codes for subdivisions use IITA as a prefix. For example, the 20 regions are each identified as IITA(underscore)(letter)(letter), and may be retrieved en masse by using the basket geo wild card expression IITA_^^.

Native Name Standard Count Geo Wild Card Geo Pattern Aggregate Of
Fundamental Geo Types            
Nation     1 IITA IITA NUTS 1
Geographical areas Ripartizione NUTS 1 5 IITA_^^^^ IITA_aaaa NUTS 2
Regions Regioni NUTS 2 20 IITA_^^ IITA_aa NUTS 3
Provinces Provincia NUTS 3 110 IITA_^^^ IITA_aaa LAU 1
Municipalities   LAU 2 ~8,100 IITA_0^^^^^ IITA_0nnnnn  
Combined Geo Types            
Combined area     1 *** IITA_ITABD ***
Combined grouped region     2 IITA_G^^^^ IITA_Gaaaa NUTS1
Combined region     3 IITA_R^^^^ IITA_Raaaa NUTS 2
Moody's Analytics metropolitan area   ESPON 11 IITA_M^^^ IITA_Maaa NUTS 3

Table 2 of 2. Geographic hierarchy and geo codes (2010) (attached).  This table enumerates all areas from NUTS 1 to NUTS 3, includes example LAU 2 (municipality) areas, and (where practical) combined areas. The 2010 geographical revisions have been incorporated in the table; the blue codes are pre-revision and the red codes are active.  Please see this related article for a full description of the six changes.